Hey hey I’m a broke-ass!

As the economy continues to spiral negatively, I’ve had to make some cuts in my own spending. I don’t buy as many CDs as I used to, concerts are a rarity unless it’s someone I really like and visits to the library to borrow movies have increased.

My biggest expenditure involves comic books. My brother just did a panel at the NYComicCon this past weekend. Go to www.secretidentities.org and check out my brother’s art. In his “about me” he says my comic collection is at 2000. I would’ve agreed with him in 1990!!! I’ve got 22 long boxes in my storage and I’ll go out on a limb and say those hold 500 comicbooks. Do the math, I’ve got a shitload of comics!

My core pulls have been whittled down to:
Indies: Echo, Rasl
Dynamite: The Boys, Jungle Girl and the Lone Ranger
DC: Green Lantern
Dark Horse: Buffy the Vampire Slayer, The Umbrella Academy
Marvel: Avengers (New, Mighty, Initiative and Dark), Thor, Daredevil, Anita Blake, The Wonderful Wizard of Oz and Kick-Ass

I used to spend an upwards of $80 a week. Can’t do that anymore! Times are tight, the wallets getting thin . . .

MegaCon is at the end of the month. For a $25 entrance fee, I could probably catch up with some other books for $1 a piece. Here’s hoping!

Micky Dolenz is going to be appearing there. Here’s to shelling out some money for him to sign my “Micky Dolenz’ Rock n Rollin’ Trivia” book!

If I go, I’m sure I’ll post some pics of me in my fan-boy best . . .

Leave a Reply

