In the Absence Of Human Touch

So Morrissey cancelled the concert I was supposed to be at last night due to illness. Of course I was a bit disappointed but got over it when I got this in my inbox this morning:

“Hey Brian,

Thanks for your entry and congratulations! You have won the copy of “Years Of Refusal” on vinyl. Can you please send us your mailing address and we will get the record shipped out to you?

Very cool e-mail below. How was that trip to Fairmount? That must have been pretty cool to walk the streets that Moz did and sort of relive the video in your own way.

Thanks again for entering.

Gary & The Red Radio Crew”

I was lurking on a Morrissey forum and entered a contest which asked, “What’s your favourite Morrissey song and why.” I replied:

“”Suedehead.”

I grew up very introverted and didn’t get out of that ’til I moved away after high school. “Viva Hate” was the soundtrack to my junior year. I wore that cassette down! “Suedehead” affects me lyrically and visually. Lyrically, I related because I kept a journal. I wrote down many things that my folks didn’t understand about me. When I moved away, I became a better person. Visually, the video homage to James Dean inspired me to take the road trip to Faimount, IN. I saw the Winslow farm, Fairmount High School, Main Street. I got to see the place where James Dean grew up and walked the same streets Moz did in his video.

Morrissey got me through a lot of awkward growing up. His music will always be dear to me. And I know I’m not the only one who feels that way.”

I will always be a fanboy in some shape, way or form!

This picture, however, disturbs me slightly;)

It came with a Morrissey single.

It came with a Morrissey single.

Leave a Reply

